ANSEP Endowed Chair

Native Girl Performing

 “ANSEP has made a lasting difference for Alaska Native students”

The ANSEP partners have provided $4.4 million to endow the Dr. Herb Ilisaurri Schroeder Chair of the Alaska Native Science & Engineering Program (ANSEP).  The endowment ensures stable funding for a full-time, year-round faculty member dedicated to students enrolled in ANSEP.

The partners that made the Chair possible are Rasmuson Foundation ($2 million), Alyeska Pipeline Service Company ($500,000), ASRC Energy Services ($500,000), BP ($500,000), Chevron ($250,000), Shell Oil ($250,000), Udelhoven Oilfield System Services ($200,000), CIRI ($100,000), ConocoPhillips ($100,000) and the ANSEP Alumni.

 “ANSEP has made a lasting difference for Alaska Native students,” said Diane Kaplan, President and CEO of the Rasmuson Foundation. “This program has created a supportive learning community, allowing students to excel and graduate at unprecedented levels.”

Dr. Herb Iļisaurri Schroeder is the founder and executive director of ANSEP. Dr. Schroeder started the program in 1995 with one engineering student. In 2001 he led the formation of the Indigenous Alliance for Engineering and Science Education.  With support from the National Science Foundation and others, the Indigenous Alliance is replicating the ANSEP model at the following institutions:

  • University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Hawai'i Manoa
  • University of Washington
  • Kapi'olani Community College
  • Kuskokwim Community College
  • South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
  • University of Colorado Boulder
  • University of Montana
  • University of North Dakota
  • University of Idaho

“The contributions to the endowed chair ensure that there will be a faculty advocate for Native students on our campus in perpetuity,” notes Schroeder. “All of us at ANSEP are humbled by the support of the Alaska oil industry and the Alaska Native regional corporations. Rasmuson Foundation President Diane Kaplan and Alyeska President Kevin Hostler’s leadership in organizing support for the ANSEP chair is an extraordinary contribution to Alaska. Together with our partners we are having a profound and positive impact on the lives of our students, their families, their communities, our partner organizations, and the state that will endure for generations to come.”

The Dr. Herb Ilisaurri Schroeder Chair will oversee and provide strategic direction for ANSEP and the related partnerships with other universities. The Chair will be the key individual identified with ANSEP, responsible for building awareness and support of the program both within Alaska and throughout the United States.