In 2014, the U.S. Department of Energy's Minorities in Energy Initiative (MIE) named ANSEP the most exceptional program in the U.S. for STEM Education and Workforce Development. The MIE awarded organizations across the nation for excellence in the initiative’s major focus areas and highlighted ANSEP’s role as a leader in establishing and implementing a framework for advancing STEM education for K-12 students throughout Alaska.

In 2013 the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University recognized ANSEP as one of the top 25 Innovations in American Government from a field of 600 candidates.

In 2013 the US Department of Interior awarded ANSEP and the United States Geological Survey the Department of the Interior Partners in Conservation Award. The award recognized ANSEP’s ongoing commitment to inspiring and preparing youth for conservation careers.

In 2013 the 28th Alaska State Legislature honored ANSEP with a Citation “…for eighteen years of successful programmatic development that has transformed the education and economic opportunities for Alaska Natives and others.”

Recognizing the quality of the ANSEP components, the Rasmuson Foundation in 2013 awarded ANSEP the single largest grant in its history – a $5 million five-year award for Institutionalization and Sustainability.

In 2010 Dr. Schroeder was honored by the National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering (NACME) with the Reginald Jones Award for his work in developing ANSEP.  The award is the top award granted by NACME.

In 2008 the ANSEP partners provided $4.4 million to endow the Dr. Herb Ilisaurri Schroeder Chair of ANSEP.  The endowment has grown to more than $5.5 million.

Dr. Schroeder received a Presidential award from President Bush in 2005 for his work in developing ANSEP.  He was invited to meet with the President in the Oval Office.  The award is administered by the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House. 

Dr. Schroeder received the Denali Award from the Alaska Federation of Natives (AFN) in 2005.  This is the highest award bestowed by the Federation on a non-Native.